Pierre Kirby Approved.

HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 

The Oscars - Best Picture

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
CWEST54

PostSubject: The Oscars - Best Picture   Wed Jan 26, 2011 2:36 am

You'll have to excuse me for being a bit of a noob here but have enjoyed the forums for a while so decided to get in on the action.

It may be considered a bit mainstream to discuss the Oscars here, but i was wondering what everyone's thoughts were on the upcoming Academy Awards. I listed one category and my pick along with some colourful comments.

Best Picture:

Should go to Inception
Will go to Social Network

Verdict - Travesty, over the last year the industry has had a major hardon for Arron Sorkin to the point where most people even think he directed this film, is it me or did most people first find out about him when he had a cameo on Entourage. Having looked at his previous work, you'll find what I found, failed TV shows, West Wing being the exception (that was just boring) and for the most part very dry movies.

With the Social Network, it's the direction that drives the film not the screenplay, the characters are written almost sub-human, i've seen robots in movies conversate more realistically.

Brad said it best when he talked about schools using Inception to teach film classes, no-one will be using the facebook film for that, Soical Network is more like the Davinci Code, it's a page turner and nothing more.

I would like to know how others see this.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
The Original Greaser Bob

PostSubject: Re: The Oscars - Best Picture   Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:32 am

Best Picture: True Grit

Will most likely go to: Black Swan or The Social Network.

Verdict: Popularity contest.

I've not seen The Social Network, and candidly, I'll probably never get around to it, so I'm not here to rail against it. Instead, I'm going to talk about True Grit v. Black Swan.